Links

There is a multitude of local history information available both online and in various archives. In fact the list is almost endless. Here are some which we hope you'll find useful:

Ancestry - www.ancestry.co.uk
Aimed at family historians, but it gives access to census returns, birth, marriage and death indexes, and many other useful records. A subscription based service, but it can often be used for free in local libraries.

BBC - Family History - www.bbc.co.uk/history/familyhistory

Bicester Vision - www.bicestervision.co.uk
This site centres on the Bicester of today. It aims is to keep you up to date with what's happening in Bicester, including plans and updates on developments, information about clubs and societies you can join, links to local schools, transport information, Bicester events, news and views.

British Association for Local History - www.balh.co.uk

British History Online - www.british-history.ac.uk

British Local History - www.britishlocalhistory.com

Cassini Maps - www.cassinimaps.co.uk

Family History UK - www.familyhistory.uk.com

The Family Search - www.familysearch.org

Federation of Family History Societies - www.familyhistoryonline.net

Find My Past - www.findmypast.co.uk

The Genealogy Guide - thegenealogyguide.com

The Historical Association - www.history.org.uk

The History Press - www.thehistorypress.co.uk

Historical Directories of England & Wales - www.historicaldirectories.org
From the archives of the University of Leicester.

The National Archives - www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Old Maps UK - www.old-maps.co.uk

Oxfordshire Family History Society - www.ofhs.org.uk

Oxfordshire Historyoxfordshirelocalhistory.modhist.ox.ac.uk
Website for the Oxfordshire Architectural and Historical Society, including a good section on how to get started in local history research.

Oxfordshire History Centre - www.oxfordshire.gov.uk/records
St Luke's Church, Temple Road, Cowley, Oxford, OX4 2HT. 01865 398200 archives@oxfordshire.gov.uk
Their catalogue is searchable online, and some items from their archive are viewable online too. But for the best research you should visit them in person.

Oxfordshire Local History Association - www.olha.org.uk
01865 242760, journal@olha.org.uk
A good source for information on local history societies in Oxfordshire.

ThoughtCo - https://www.thoughtco.com/dna-family-trees-1420576
How to Use DNA Testing to Trace Your Family Tree

Victoria County History - www.victoriacountyhistory.ac.uk